Skip to main content

Vidhi Mody

Coding? I do it for the cookies! 🍪

3 min read · May 31st 2020

GSoCpedia: Chapter Two

“It's not the Destination, It's the journey.”

~ Ralph Waldo

It’s been less than a month but this community has really grown on me. The past few weeks have been really eventful. A huge shoutout to my mentor, Željko for giving me the best on-boarding experience ever! (📣 You can checkout his blog on GSoC here.) In this short span, I got to meet the entire QTE & Release Engineering team. I also gained a new sense of professionalism and a clearer view of what it meant to be working as a community! 💜

Week 3 and 4 (19th-1st June)

Of all the past and upcoming weeks, this one is always going to be my favourite. I had my first commits merged. 🎉

Merged commits

Highlights:

  • Learnt more about Željko’s coding process and debugging.
  • Completed implemenation in the ContentTranslation repository
  • Completed implemenation in the WikibaseCirrusSearch repository
  • Met the entire team at the QTE sync meeting
  • Attended the Test Stratergy by RiskStorming with TestSphere, a part of the EngProd virtual offsite micro hackathon.
    You can learn more about RiskStorming With TestSphere here. MediaWiki Hackathon 💡 Bonus points to Željko for the creative set-up!
    A little bit more about the Hackathon since I absolutely loved it-
    What we tested:

    1. The Death Star (I wish I was a Star Wars fan to actually understand more of what was going on 😅)
      ✔️ Quality aspects picked: Functionality, Testability, Operations, Resource Management, Disaster Control, Security and Permissions, Performance
    2. Wikipedia Donation Banners
      ✔️ Quality aspects picked: Accessibility, Internationalization, User-friendliness, Performance, Security and Permissions, Concurrency
  • Completed Implementation in MediaWiki/core.
  • Completed Implementation in FileImporter repository.
  • Completed Implementation in Newsletter repository.
  • Completed Implementation in ORES repository.
  • Completed Implementation in AbuseFilter repository.
    I faced a few problems upgrading this repo including a database error in setting up the enivornment for this repo locally. A suggested solution was to delete the existing container and create a new one since it is way easier than finding the problem in the existing one!
    “Treat containers like cattle not pets.”
    ~ Željko Filipin
    By far the greatest analogy I’ve ever heard! 😬
  • I always wondered how networking was possible if you are working remotely.
    -----(Enters the WaterCooler 🚰)-----
    A little more context, a WaterCooler is a meet wherein the team gathers to just talk about things other than work. A great initiative to learn more about each other and take some time off work. I really enjoyed it!
    The Analogy: At a workplace, sometimes when you head out to get a glass of water, you might run into a co-worker and y’all catch-up with each other’s life. The WaterCooler meet aims to do just that.
  • You can find my meeting notes here! 📃

The coding period is officially going to begin! I’m really looking forward to working on the advanced repositories, hopefully it goes well. 💁‍♀️
See you in two weeks! 🍻

Comments

Tagged with webdriverio | gsoc